Recognizing the Real and the Potential: FIELDS MEDAL for Mathematical Efforts

Fields	Medal recipients since inception
Year	Winners
1936	Lars Valerian Ahlfors (Harvard University) (April 18, 1907 — October 11, 1996)
	Jesse Douglas (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) (July 3, 1897 — September 7, 1965)
1950	Atle Selberg (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton) (June 14, 1917 — August 6, 2007)
1954	Kunihiko Kodaira (Princeton University) (March 16, 1915 — July 26, 1997)
1962	John Willard Milnor (Princeton University) (born February 20, 1931)
1966	Paul Joseph Cohen (Stanford University) (April 2, 1934 — March 23, 2007)
	Stephen Smale (University of California, Berkeley) (born July 15, 1930)
1970	Heisuke Hironaka (Harvard University) (born April 9, 1931)
1974	David Bryant Mumford (Harvard University) (born June 11, 1937)
1978	Charles Louis Fefferman (Princeton University) (born April 18, 1949)
	Daniel G. Quillen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) (June 22, 1940 — April 30, 2011)
1982	William P. Thurston (Princeton University) (October 30, 1946 — August 21, 2012)
	Shing-Tung Yau (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton) (born April 4, 1949)
1986	Gerd Faltings (Princeton University) (born July 28, 1954)
	Michael Freedman (University of California, San Diego) (born April 21, 1951)
1990	Vaughan Jones (University of California, Berkeley) (born December 31, 1952)
	Edward Witten (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton) (born August 26, 1951)
1994	Jean Bourgain (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton) (born February 28, 1954)
	Efim Zelmanov (University of Wisconsin) (born September 7, 1955)
1998	Curtis T. McMullen (Harvard University) (born May 21, 1958)
2002	Vladimir Voevodsky (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton) (born June 4, 1966)
2006	Andrei Okounkov (Princeton University) (born June 26, 1969)
	Terence Tao (University of California, Los Angeles) (born July 17, 1975)
2010	Ngô Bao Châu (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton) (born June 28, 1972)

The Fields Medal
is awarded
every four years
on the occasion of the
International Congress
of Mathematicians
to recognize
outstanding
mathematical
achievement
for existing work
and for the promise of
future achievement.

PHOTO OF THE FIELDS MEDAL BY STEFAN ZACHOW